Anybody ever make a potato hiller

Two
One with coulter's and one with scoops.

Honestly, I think a couple pieces of flat steel, at a 30° angle will work fine

Two disk blades at an angle to make the "hill". Then plant your potatoes on top of the hill. Much easier to take care of and to dig when time is right.

I purchased the discs and shafts then built the mounting bar. I've never used a hiller before but have to say I wouldn't raise potatoes again without one. Makes weed control much easier. Even used it on the sweet corn.
I believe these are the ones I used.
14″ Disc Hiller

In tilled ground they do not pull hard and you have to have them farther apart than what you would think. Controlling your speed is more important than the depth when it comes to spreading the soil. I would not be afraid to use this on a garden tractor but you may not get to use it more than once a year because of the lower ground clearance and narrow wheel spacing. Used it twice this year and now the plants are filling in the rows. Sweet corn is second planting.
STA_0626.JPGSTD_0629.JPGSTA_0630.JPG

In tilled ground they do not pull hard and you have to have them farther apart than what you would think. Controlling your speed is more important than the depth when it comes to spreading the soil. I would not be afraid to use this on a garden tractor but you may not get to use it more than once a year because of the lower ground clearance and narrow wheel spacing. Used it twice this year and now the plants are filling in the rows. Sweet corn is second planting.
View attachment 1711View attachment 1712View attachment 1713
Only need to use it once a year, just before you plant.

I use mine to cover weeds that are coming up between the plants somewhat the same as a cultivator. Worked really well for that.

We used them to open the trough, then plant, then used them to cover with slight hill.