anyone buy welding gas lately????

dodge trucker

Tractorologist
not happy.... I mean, I'm glad I was able to get what I needed with all of this COVID crap going on, and all....
but the sticker shock.... yikes.
I went to the local AIRGAS place earlier today, a place I have been buying from for many years. though I know, I aint exactly in there every day, but enough for the guys behind the counter to know me by name, when I do go in.
being I got this week off of work, due to this COVID business, and the weather is more like I'd of expected for 2 months ago, I've been working in the garage with the heat on.... I got my old '85 D-150 into the garage a couple days ago, and on the lift. Today's project so far, to make some new exhaust for it, I ran out of Argon + CO2 mix for the MIG. about 1/2 way thru. partly thanks to my kid, who miles to come back home and use up my consumables..... nother story there.

but the price for the MIG gas bottle.... ... I don't remember this gas being THAT much, the last time.... which, as I remember, was about 1-1/2 years ago...…. maybe less, again thanks to the kid using it up.
First I seen the "OPEN" sign.... whew.... I usually have a tough time catching them open because at around noon (when I was there today) I am usually at work 35 miles away.... I get my empty cyl out of the bed of my truck.... side door I usually use, locked. Went up front, locked but there's a phone number on the door and I can see people inside.... getting aggravated.... Pat, the guy I usually see there, picks up phone and motions me to call... so I did...
I told him I had a bottle out back that I needed swapped out, he comes out and sees what it is, brings me a fresh bottle to the gate.... I ask for a couple of flapper wheels and some safety glasses, Pat took my debit card and comes back with it + the reciept + what I asked for.... he left, I looked at receipt,