For those with a loader...

Greasy6020

Tractorologist
I’m looking into either building a loader, or buying a GT with a loader on it already for farm use, I’d like to ditch the wheel barrow and caca fork...

Currently, best options for loader tractors are roper rt16, or Massey 14 given the heavier construction, and reliable starting of both tractors.

Neighbour is a machinist by trade I recall, and he “owes me a favour” he said, for a ride home after he put his truck in the ditch plowing snow, could get loader built by him...

Has anyone ever made a grapple for a garden tractor? Given that dads skidsteer has a grapple, and he’s said it’s slicker than snot on a door knob, a grapple on a GT sounds handy , given that it will fit in any place at the farm.

Bale spear also sounds handy, considering that cows gotta be fed. Can only imagine that I could skewer a section of big square bale and carry on to feed cows, or move “idiot blocks” as dad calls em with ease. “Idiot blocks” are just a lazy mans name for small square bales:p

Thanks for your help in decisions...

I’ve had a MF 1855 with a Workhorse loader, a Simplicity 4041 with high lift loader, it was called a GT but was really more of a SCUT. Also had a Case IH 234 with loader, any of those were heavy enough to do most jobs and small enough to fit where I needed them to.

I use a 15 Hp Beaver Diesel. Not sure if is a small cut or large garden tractor.
I would really hate to give up the 4 wheel drive, the down fall of the Diesel is cold weather starting, The Beaver is similar as the Iseki/Mitsubishi that Bolens used.
I use it to push snow in the winter and blade the gravel driveway in the summer, Also used it when we put a new roof on the house to hoist the shingles up on the roof.