HF Mini Tire Changer

chieffan

Tractorologist
Used on the small tires up through 11". Has anyone used one? Your opinion of them? I would adapt it to sit on the post of my Coats tire changer.

yeah I just bought it a month or 2 ago, make sure you get 2 of the cheap tire irons they helped a lot. the smaller the tire the more it sucks, you also have to watch how much ass you put into it, remember it's cheap Chinese junk that will bend and break, but it works. for install the more dish soap you use the easier they go on. I mounted it to a 1/2 pallet, I did about a dozen so far, I tried doing a 12" with 23x10.5 that was to much for it.

Ive been using one for several years.... have it mounted to a steel table and Ive done several dozen 12" and smaller wheels on it.

I have a piece of large diameter threaded rod, 7/8 I think, that I clamp in my vice. A couple of nuts and washers holds the wheel on it......and have at 'er with some tire irons. For the 12 inch or bigger tires, I have this old rig...
Garage 004.jpg

Thank much for the advise. I have the tire irons as I use them on the the larger tires on my Coats machine. Also use a pair of large screw drivers with the edges rounded that works good. Nice handles to get hold of.

This is mine from Princess Auto.... same thing as the HF ones I believe. I also picked up a larger one a couple years ago but still havent gotten around to mounting it on a pallet

026.JPG027.JPG

Funny I thought HF stuff was made in India?
Personaly I think it is a good little tool for the price and if done correctly will last.
I got a flat in a ATV tire and couldn't break the tire down to fix it so took it to a tire shop said they couldn't do so small a tire. Took it to the ATV shop and they charged me $50.00 to fix it. That was in 1998 prices too.

I have used the tire changer and been happy I bought it several times.

:D Al