Question about AGM batteries in GT's

MNGB

Tractorologist
Hi all, I've been using GM batteries in my airplane for over 15 years best thing ever after 5 or so years I generally replace with a new battery and put the old one in my Heald hualer and it last for another 5 years if I don't leave a switch on and kill it this battery is a motorcycle battery an ETX14, so now I've been looking into going with an AGM battery for the Power Kings Suburbans etc but I'm finding it hard to do a real apples to apples comparison so many listing for batteries with no real good information to compare with. For example there's an E bay listing under PK item for one that supposely replaces the U1 GT battery dem are about the same but the listed wt is about half that of regular bats, its $70.00, walmart list some for $65.00 wt is about the same as regular bats but they are only 35 amp which is a light duty to me comes out to about 255 CCA I find anything less than 300 CCA only last a couple of years then there is the Wal-mart plain lead acid battery 340 CCA $40.00 So is anyone using an AGM battery in their GT's and how is it working?

I've had a 340 CCA lead acid battery in my MF 12 that has the winch operated loader. Its been in the tractor for at least 5 or more years now, still working good. I shouldn't of said that, I'll be out looking for a battery next week, knowing my luck, hehe. But, no I have not used a AGM battery Gary. So I don't know. And I find the same thing with the low CCA batteries. They only last two years or so.

Noel

Hi Noel yea I'll probably just go with a new 340 CCA battery the AGM may well be worth the extra dollars but I'd like more real world use information

I've been using these in the Lister Petters diesel some others and have had excellent luck with them. One is enough to start the Lister just fine. For their small size they pack a punch. Just wish the lugs were larger. Beware there are some cheap brands that aren't worth a tinkers darn.
1586755235532.png