New year new project doing some work on the 58 CS

MNGB

Tractorologist
Hi all, well with the new year I'm starting a new project, will be refurbishing the 1958 Country squire mainly working on the hood, its beat up been welded in several places and has numerous layers of paint (I think its a 32nds inch thick) anyway started with using a side arm grinder with a sanding flap wheel to remove the paint and the high areas of weld. EPCO used some real steel in these hoods its a heavy thing.

HPIM1224.JPGHPIM1226.JPGHPIM1217.JPGHPIM1218.JPGHPIM1219.JPGHPIM1220.JPGHPIM1221.JPG

Got the paint off the hood cleaned it with lacquer thinner someone must have run into something cause the front of the hood is really dented, welded, has a reinforcing strap welded on. So it will take a fair amount of bondo and I got started on that this afternoon, body work is not one of my favorite things to do, I'm not good at it don't have the skills or patience.

HPIM1227.JPGHPIM1228.JPGHPIM1229.JPG

Got the paint off the hood cleaned it with lacquer thinner someone must have run into something cause the front of the hood is really dented, welded, has a reinforcing strap welded on. So it will take a fair amount of bondo and I got started on that this afternoon, body work is not one of my favorite things to do, I'm not good at it don't have the skills or patience.

View attachment 33027View attachment 33028View attachment 33029
Me neither.

Looks like another cool build especially since your "winter project" barely even lasted into winter, GB,---LOL! That tractor looks like a brute!

If i was retired, I would probably enjoy bodywork, but it is so time consuming and messy! I just let the stuff wear it's history until maybe someday there will be time for it!

DAC