SS 12 restoration

Hi bobcat2. You cross ref. a part for me, #17 is Husqvarna 532006270 seal. Was this the same seal you used for your TransAxle drive seal? The reason I ask is I found a PIC of that seal on a Web site and it looks to be made of all rubber. The seal in my Axle is metal with rubber seal on the inside edge.

Attachments

• Drive seal.jpg
    Drive seal.jpg
    112.5 KB · Views: 3
Last edited:
I am working on pulling my brake drum now. I have a 3 jaw puller on it and used kroil too. No luck so far. I will need a new brake band, any ideas where I can find one. My brake drum is about 2 1/2 inches dia.

Attachments

• Brake.jpg
    Brake.jpg
    160.3 KB · Views: 12
Last edited:
It is a standard metal/rubber oil seal. About the size of a nickel. I suspect they used a stock photo. I got my brake lining at McMaster and Carr.

Been a while since an update...

Tried extracting the broken transaxle bolts by welding nuts on them, that didn't work. My friend's son in law has an induction coil so we welded bolts onto the studs, heated them up white hot, and still broke more of the broken bolts off. Then we started drilling them out, and he wanted to try an easy out(which I disagreed with), and he broke it off in the last one. We ended up drilling out the broken easy out, boogered up those threads, so now I have to decide if I want to drill it and the frame out further and use a bigger bolt, or clean the hole up and use a helical insert. since there is a lot of meat there, I may just bore all of the holes out, tap them and use 7/16 bolts instead of the factory 3/8 bolts.

Still searching for a drive pulley, I still have to pick up that free tractor when I can get to it, it probably has one.

Still painting like a fool.